Grandmaster Ark Y Wong brought the Five Family System of Southern Shaolin¬† to the United States in the early 1900’s. The Five Family system is very large and comprehensive. The training is very complete with internal and external training, long arm and short arm techniques, and many weapons. These components not only give the student effective fighting techniques but also condition and train the entire body and benefit the health.

Although the system is very large as a student progresses through the training, the new material builds upon the material already mastered, taking the student to new plateaus of skill. The Five Families that influenced the system are: Hung Choy, Li, Fut, and Mok but the most famous aspect of the system is the Five Animal Forms. Sometimes the system is also called the Five Family Five Animal System.


Ng Ga Kuen Curriculum to Black Sash


  • Breathing Exercises (Hay/Qi Gong)
  • Stances
  • Hand Techniques
  • Kicks
  • Walking with the Stances
  • Combining Hand Techniques with the Walking

Basic Forms

  • Salute Act
  • Small Cross Act
  • Butterfly Act
  • Blackbird Act
  • Combination Act
  • Palm Act

Five Animal Forms

  • Tiger Act
  • Dragon Act
  • Snake Act
  • Crane Act
  • Leopard Act

Basic Weapons

  • Short Stick
  • 6 Foot Pole
  • Broadsword
  • Straight Sword
  • Spear
  • Butterfly Knifes


Grandmaster Ark Wong and Master Louir Martinez
Grandmaster Ark Wong and Master Louie Martinez
Master Louie Martinez Snake Kung Fu
Master Louie Martinez
Sifu Franklin Fick Ng Ga Kuen Tiger Acting
Sifu Franklin Fick


Want to Learn Authentic Ng Ga Kuen Online?

Check out our Online Classes

Learn Kung Fu Online



Form Demonstrations